Before fully delving into the makeup world and all of its contents, I had to make a conscious decision as to where I wanted to start. The purpose of this post is to offer five tips in order to provide some guidance as to where one should start when starting your makeup journey, purchasing products, and finally some of the basic items that I suggest one should have in his/her arsenal!

1. Discover what your skin type is!

I have normal-type skin. My skin is neither dry or oily, so I have the ability to try out various makeup and skincare products. In order to restore my skin’s “natural balance,” I use products that gently cleanse, tone, and moisturize my skin. I tend to shy away from products that are known to dry skin out, but those with oily-type skin may need a few of those types of products in his/her arsenal in order to mitigate oil build-up. All in all, determining what your skin type is and finding products that work best for you will contrive a flawless base for your makeup!

2. Create and maintain an effective skincare regimen.

After you figure out what your skin type is, you can then take on the (daunting yet rewarding) task of finding what products are created to tailor to your skin’s needs. When you do find products that seem to work for your skin (cleanser, exfoliant, toner, and moisturizer) develop a regimen for both day and night. The key to this step is to understand that changes do not happen overnight! Once you find out what products work best for you, be patient and stick to your guns!

3. Drink a lot of water!

Need I say more? I have an issue with only drinking water during the week while I’m at school in class. I tend to negate my practices on the weekends, and it tends to show on Sunday morning. Drinking water is a MAJOR KEY!

Drink Water!

4. Quality vs. Quantity

After purchasing over $125 worth of makeup last summer at Sephora, I began following several YouTube MUAs in search for all of the things that I needed in order to achieve the looks that I wanted. Looking back, I’m happy that I didn’t have the means to purchase every single thing that caught my eye. If I had, I would’ve ended up with a plethora of products that I didn’t know how to use! If you’re weary about what products to use, I suggest browsing your local drugstore for products in order to get a feel for what you may like. Doing this will save you a great deal of money and time! I personally gravitate towards drugstore brands such as L’Oreal and Maybelline for my foundations and Milani for small yet extremely pigmented eyeshadow palettes.

Brands

5. Don’t overwhelm yourself trying to “keep up with the Joneses!”

Do not overwhelm yourself trying to keep up with the latest trends and releases when you have no idea where to start! In order to master a full face, its best to start with one feature and work your way around your face. Because my skin is relatively clear, I decided to skip the foundation routine and start with my eyes. I began doing research on what products were cheapest and really pigmented, and finally I began purchasing brushes that would help me achieve the looks I wanted. (Check out BH Cosmetics and Morphe for monthly palette and brush deals! Most of the brushes I own are from both BH and Morphe!) Once I mastered my eyes, I moved on to my eyebrows, then my face, and finally my lips. I’m not where I want to be, but now that I know what I know, I can go back and adjust fire accordingly.

Here are a few (drugstore) products (and brands) that I suggest one should purchase when first starting out:

  • Foundation (Maybelline FitMe Foundation)
  • Beauty Sponge (Real Techniques)
  • Concealer (L’Oreal Infallible Concealer)
  • Brow Pencil
  • Eyeliner (NYX Epic Ink Eyeliner)
  • Eyeshadow (Milani Everyday Eyes Eyeshadow Collection)
  • Mascara (Maybelline Great Lash Mascara)
  • Lipstick/Lipgloss

The purpose of this post isn’t to tell you what to buy, per say, but to provide you with some tips and tricks as to where you may want to start in your makeup journey! Feel free to step outside of the box and purchase as much or as little as you’d like! Also, feel free to ask me questions and share with me the “must-haves” that you love!

— T

