I stumbled upon TruSelf Organics via Instagram about 6 months ago (when U.S. shipping and handling was free) and I was instantly drawn to their products based upon their descriptions alone. None of their products contain synthetic chemicals, colorants or scents, or parabens. I am striving to keep my skin feeling and looking healthy, so at that time I was under the impression that products that are all-natural (that I don’t feel like concocting myself) are likely to cost more than products that are not. I purchased the Clear Skin Kit ($45) a total of 3 times and I even bought the detoxifying mask separately ($19) for my boyfriend and his mother as gifts.

The Clear Skin Kit contains the clear skin foaming cleanser (1.8 oz), the detoxifying mask (2 oz), and the ocean mineral moisturizer (2 oz). I have normal skin, so I would use the mask once a week and the facial cleanser and moisturizer daily. After about 4 weeks from my initial use, I could see and feel several differences! My skin looked and felt more soft to the touch, my pores were not as visible (even though my pores have never been a major concern) and my skin tone was much more even. Before using the mask, my boyfriend struggled with blackheads around his nose and chin. He only used his mask approximately 2-3 times a month, but I could see a major difference in the overall appearance of his skin. His blackheads were a thing of the past and although he never struggled with acne, the few blemishes that he did have were no more.

Detoxifying-Mask-2
The mask comes in mineral form. In order to use it, mix an equal amount of water (or Apple Cider Vinegar if you’re looking for an even deeper detoxifying experience) to the clay until the consistency is smooth, but not too thin/watery. I evenly brushed the mixture onto my face for 10-20 minutes (sometimes more if I happened to be watching one of my television shows) and washed it off with lukewarm water. If I felt the need to, I would wash my face with the foaming cleanser, but most times I would just use the moisturizer (or shea butter) in order to restore moisture back to my skin. If you don’t moisturize after using the mask, your skin will look and feel extremely dry.

I’ve mentioned before that I am indeed a struggling college student, and after looking through past bank statements, I couldn’t bring myself to purchase another kit. I would have loved to, but $45 plus shipping and handling every two months was bleeding me dry. (You see what I did there?) In any event, one of my girlfriends told me that she started using Indian Healing Clay by Aztec Secret. About a week later, I bought my 16 0z container on eBay for only $8 with free shipping and handling! I was ecstatic about that fact alone! After receiving it, I looked it over and ran my fingers through the minerals. It felt, looked and smelled just like TruSelf’s formula. The label also stated that it is 100% bentonite clay and does not contain additives or fragrances, whereas TruSelf’s formula contained a number of minerals such Rose Kaolin Clay, Moroccan Red Clay, Dead Sea Clay, Moroccan Rhassoul Clay, and Epsom Salt. I decided to mix the clay it with Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar instead of water because I needed a deeper detoxifying experience. When using ACV with a clay mask, my skin tends to get more sensitive around my eyes when I leave it on for 20 minutes or more, so I only left the mask on for about 15 minutes before rinsing with lukewarm water. My skin looked and felt just as good as before! I moisturized my face with my go-to moisturizer, Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion and was good to go!

Aztec Secret's Indian Healing Clay
This mask also comes in its mineral form. I generally follow the same steps as outlined before with the exception of using ACV instead of water and moisturizing my face with Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion instead of TruSelf’s Ocean Mineral Moisturizer.

Essentially, if you’re looking for a cheaper way to get the benefits of a clay mask without spending 15% of your savings over the course of a few months, scale back and purchase Aztec Secret’s Indian Healing Clay Mask. I have nothing against TruSelf Organics and it’s products, it’s just a bit too pricey for my budget (or lack thereof). Let me know what you think in the comment section below!

Until next time,

— T

