It’s been about a week since my last post, so decided to debut my go-to spring/summer look!

My boyfriend bought me Too Faced’s Sweet Peach Eyeshadow Palette for my birthday last month, and I can’t keep my hands off of it! All of the shades are smooth, highly-pigmented, and it smells heavenly! I’m happy with it because in conjunction to the “peachy” shades that give the palette its name, there are several “safety blanket shades” such as Carmelized, Peach Pit, Cobbler, Luscious, and Puree. What can I say? I’m a brown girl who loves brown! There are several tutorials out there floating around, but if you’re wondering from a college student’s point of view as to whether it’s worth a whole $49, then the answer is no. If you want it as badly as I did, then I highly suggest that you convince a loved one to snag it for you. If you are a working adult who is financially dependent and doesn’t need to choose between buying groceries and makeup, then treat yo’self!

In order to create my look, I used the following products:

  • Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Hydrating Primer
  • MAC ‘Veluxe’ Brow Liner in Deep Dark Brunette
  • MAC Studio Finish Concealer in NW50
  • Smashbox 24 Hour Photo Finish Shadow Primer
  • Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette
  • NYX Epic Ink Eyeliner in Black
  • Clinique Chubby In The Nude Foundation Stick in Ample Amber
  • Sacha Buttercup Setting Powder
  • BH Cosmetics x Carli Bybel 14 Color Eyeshadow & Highlighter Palette (Volume 1)
  • MAC Lip Pencil in Chestnut
  • NYX Cosmetics Lip Lingerie in French Maid
  • MAC Prep + Prime Fix + Finishing Mist

After washing my face and moisturizing my skin with Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion, I primed my face with Smashbox’s Photo Finish Foundation Hydrating Primer. I fill in my eyebrows with MAC’s ‘Veluxe’ Brow Liner in Deep Dark Brunette. Next, I carve out my eyebrows using MAC’s Studio Finish Concealer in NW50. If I happen to apply too much, I pull the extra product up towards my forehead and blend it in with my one of my fingers. In order achieve a more “gradient” look, I fill in the tails my eyebrows with a brown matte eyeshadow using a different angled liner brush.

I try to stay away from the front of my brows when filling them in so that they don’t look too “boxy.” The point of filling in your eyebrows is so they don’t get lost on your face after applying your makeup. They shouldn’t be too dark or too “sharp;” however, if that’s the look that you’re going for, completely disregard my remarks!

Before applying my eyeshadow, I take an extremely small amount of Smashbox 24 Hour Photo Finish Shadow Primer on an index finger and rub it on the other in order to evenly distribute the product before applying it to my eyelids. Applying an eyeshadow primer is essential to my routine in order to extend the life of my shadows with no creasing, fading or smudging.

If you don’t wish to spend $21 on the one that I use, you can create your own eyeshadow primer using a concealer first, allowing it dry slightly and then setting it with a setting powder before applying your shadow(s).

I placed Summer Yum, in my crease with a dense blending brush and blended it out with a clean fluffy blending brush while avoiding my lid space. Then, I packed Candied Peach onto my lid with a small shader brush. I went over my lid space three times to ensure the color was to my liking. I then took the clean blending brush to the space between the two shades in order to blend out any harsh lines. My go-to liner is NYX’s Epic Ink Eyeliner, but for my summer looks, I like to keep my eyeliner to a minimum or nothing at all. I drew it on a little too thick on one eye, so I was forced to create small wings. I applied some mink lashes that my mother sent me in a care package a few months back, so I’m not entirely sure as to what brand they are!

To finish up, I applied my foundation in the form of the Clinique’s Chubby In The Nude Foundation Stick. After application, I blended it out with a damp beauty blender. I don’t like my foundation to look too dewy, so I took a small portion of my Sacha Buttercup Setting Powder to my foundation under my eyes, chin, and forehead using the same beauty blender. (I dare you to judge me!) I don’t contour too often in the summer, so I skipped out on the concealer and just used powder. I let it sit for a minute or so while I applied Summer Yum under my eye near my waterline and Just Peachy in my tear duct with a small detailer brush. (I like to work my way from outer corner of my eye towards the inner corner so that I don’t mix my lighter shades with my darker ones.)

Lastly, I took a large powder brush and dusted away any loose powder and went in for the final touches. I lightly lined my lips with MAC’s Lip Pencil in Chestnut, and filled them in with NYX’s Lip Lingerie in French Maid. I love the shade of this lippie because it provides me with the right amount of color without washing me out! What more can you ask for at the expense of only $7? I grabbed my (coveted) BH Cosmetics x Carli Bybel Eyeshadow/Highlighter palette and added a tiny bit of highlight (from the second pan from the left) around my cheekbones and down the bridge of my nose before misting my face with a bit of Fix + just to add a light touch of moisture (before taking it all off and getting back into bed).

Remember, Fix + isn’t a setting spray, so don’t expect it to behave like one. I have normal skin, so I’m comfortable going out for 12+ hours with a full face knowing that my makeup will stay intact until I take it off. (If you’re looking for one, give Urban Decay’s All-Nighter Long Lasting Makeup Setting Spray a try.)

HERE’S THE FINISHED LOOK:

SP1
My shirt is on completely inside out, but I had no idea until I uploaded this photo! I intended on crawling right back into bed after uploading this, so that’s also why I’m still wearing my headscarf!

Let me know what you think in the comment(s) section below!

— T

